Industry Task Force

Sustainable Buildings

    Industry Task Force

    Sustainable Buildings Task Force

    The Sustainable Buildings Task Force is made up of global CEOs from throughout the buildings industry working together to accelerate the delivery of net zero buildings to reduce carbon emissions and is chaired by George Oliver, Chairman & CEO, Johnson Controls (NYSE:JCI). The Task Force supports the overall Sustainable Markets Initiative mission to speed the world's transition to a sustainable future by engaging and challenging public, private, and philanthropic sectors to bring economic value, in harmony with social and environmental sustainability.

      Placeholder for loading
      About the Sustainable Buildings Task Force
      Placeholder for loading

      Latest News

      Sustainable Markets Initiative Task Force announces new roadmap addressing embodied carbon in the built environment

      Sustainable Building Task Force releases report on addressing embodied carbon in mechanical, electrical, and plumbing systems at COP28 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

      Sustainable Buildings Task Force


        • Placeholder for loading
          SMI SB decarbonization report cover
          Resources 02 December 2023

          Decarbonization in the Built Environment: Addressing Embodied Carbon in MEP Systems

          This report outlines the significance of accounting for the embodied carbon of a building’s mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems, identifies key challenges and proposes recommendations on how to reduce embodied carbon.
        • Placeholder for loading
          SMI Sustainable Buildings White Paper
          Resources 08 November 2022

          Corporations can accelerate action to decarbonise the built environment

          The Sustainable Buildings Taskforce has outlined best practices and recommendations to achieve a more sustainable built environment through technology adoption, supported by smart policies and innovative strategic partnerships and incentives.

          Effective climate action requires us to move quickly. Buildings account for nearly 40% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions and decarbonizing buildings is the key to decarbonizing our future to ensure generations to come experience a healthy, safe and sustainable planet

          George Oliver, Chairman & CEO, Johnson Controls
          Placeholder for loading
          George Oliver

          Task Force Members

          The Sustainable Buildings Task Force is chaired by George Oliver, Chairman and CEO of Johnson Controls. The Task Force is comprised of leaders from the across the Buildings industry, including:

          Johnson controls

          George Oliver

          Chairman and CEO

          Troy Rudd


          Bob Sulentic

          Derwent London

          Paul Williams


          Steve McGill

          Founder and CEO
          Robertson Group

          Elliot Robertson

          Trane Technologies

          Dave Regnery

          Chair and CEO

          Michael Stassinopoulos

          Executive member of the Board

          Further information

          For Task Force enquiries please contact: